Sunday, 28 August 2016

RETURN TO THE LITTLE FRENCH GUESTHOUSE BY HELEN POLLARD

La Cour des Roses #2
RETURN TO THE LITTLE FRENCH GUESTHOUSE
Author: Helen Pollard
Genre: Women's Fiction
Publication Date: 26th August, 2016
Publishers: Bookouture
Rating:
Goodreads
Blue skies, new love, and a glass of Bordeaux . . . what could possibly go wrong?
When Emmy Jamieson leaves her life behind and moves to La Cour des Roses, a gorgeous guesthouse amidst vineyards in France, everything is resting on her success as the new guesthouse manager.
Looming in the calendar is the biggest booking ever, when the entire eccentric, demanding Thomson family will descend for a golden wedding anniversary. With airbeds on the floor and caravans in the garden, La Cour des Roses will be bursting at the seams.
Emmy knows she’s up to the challenge, especially with the support of the gorgeous Alain, the half-French, half-English, caramel-eyed accountant. But she hadn’t counted on a naked, sleepwalking travel blogger, or the return of owner Rupert’s venomous ex-wife Gloria.
Gloria has a few things to say about Emmy’s new role, Rupert’s finances, and the unsuspecting Alain, which send everybody reeling. Just when Emmy can see a future for herself of endless sunshine, true love and laughter, are her dreams about to be ripped at the seams?
Fans of Jenny Colgan, Lucy Diamond and Nick Alexander will want to join Emmy for a glass of wine as the sun sets on the terrace at La Cour des Roses.
Oh, how joyous it was- the return to the little french guesthouse. I did enjoy every single minute of it and honestly want Helen Pollard to write more and more sequels for La Cour Des Roses series. I was distraught when the story was finished, it was like a good movie coming to an end, but I want it to continue forever, to hear more news about how my favourite bunch of characters is progressing. Ah, it's a misery that I can't simply let them go! 

I am short of words to describe how incredibly fun and delighted this short, quick vacation at La Cour Des Roses was. RETURN TO THE LITTLE FRENCH GUESTHOUSE is a perfect summer book, superbly balanced and well executed. It's loaded with fun, laughter, heartbreaks, happiness and a good deal of cooking. The atmosphere was interesting, writing just fabulous and characters were of pleasant, attractive and excellent nature (not everyone, though). Readers are bound to like each of those folks from the beginning.

Saturday, 27 August 2016

The Confectioner's Tale by Laura Madeleine

THE CONFECTIONER'S TALE
Author: Laura Madeleine
Genre: Historical Fiction
Publication Date: September 20th, 2016
Publishers: St. Martin's Press
Rating:
Goodreads
At the famous Patisserie Clermont, a chance encounter with the owner's daughter has given one young man a glimpse into a life he never knew existed: of sweet cream and melted chocolate, golden caramel and powdered sugar, of pastry light as air. But it is not just the art of confectionery that holds him captive, and soon a forbidden love affair begins.
Almost eighty years later, an academic discovers a hidden photograph of her grandfather as a young man with two people she has never seen before. Scrawled on the back of the picture are the words “Forgive me.” Unable to resist the mystery behind it, she begins to unravel the story of two star-crossed lovers and one irrevocable betrayal.

In THE CONFECTIONER's TALE, Laura Madeleine spins the story of a girl, who is determined to dig out the truth about her late Grandfather's past. It hints back to the early 1900's, something about a girl in a certain photograph and the word 'Patisserie'. Could she succeed?

1) The cover is beautiful and alluring. Together with the title, mouth-watering description of food in the blurb and the pastel colours on the cover, the novel looked very appealing to me. 

Saturday, 20 August 2016

THE SUMMER ESCAPE by LILY GRAHAM


Never thought that I would like this story so much, that I really really really wish LILY GRAHAM to write a sequel to this amazing story. It's the story of a woman who travels to Crete, Greece to escape from her painful past and how her life changes afterwards.


THE SUMMER ESCAPE
Author: Lily Graham
Genre: Women's Fiction
Publication Date: May 26th 2016
Publishers: Bookouture
Rating:
It's always summer on the island of Crete.
After losing her fiance, Ria's life has been at a standstill. So nobody is more surprised than her when she makes the snap decision to run away to the Greek island of Crete, armed only with her passport. It turns out to be a brilliant idea. She soon starts working for eccentric novelist Caroline, and meets handsome vineyard owner Tom. And who couldn't be charmed by the picture perfect island of Crete, complete with sea-front tavernas and sun-drenched olive groves?
But soon there is trouble in paradise. As Ria gets to know Tom better, she unwittingly uncovers a tangled web of secrets, and a truth that someone will do anything to keep hidden. What's more Ria carries her own secret, her own sadness about her past love, and as she and Tom grow closer will this stop her from grabbing her own chance at happiness with both hands?
Sometimes running away is how you find yourself ...
A wonderful romantic read, perfect for fans of Miranda Dickinson and Lucy Diamond, about having the courage to follow your heart and fall in love again.
WHAT I LIKED:

1) The writing is breathtaking with vivid descriptions of Crete and of the miles-long vineyards, author's narration of varieties of wine and the local food will salivate your mouth and together with the plot and lovely characters, the story really comes to life. It was beautiful, loved it!

Friday, 19 August 2016

FIVE Animation Movies to fuel your hunger for good stories - PART I

What got me into reading? It's a question I always come across and compels me to think about what actually inspired me to read more and more stories. As long as I can recollect, it was either the picture books or the cartoon shows; most probably the latter one.

From Mickey Mouse to Pokemon, 90's kids were the luckiest to watch the best of addictive cartoon and anime shows on TV and I am one of them. Believe it or not, those shows encouraged me to read to a great extent. We didn't have many story books, but the weekly children's magazine. Seeing the colourful pictures of my favourite characters in it, is what made me pick them up and start reading and soon, we (my brother and me) were hooked by the stories and waited impatiently until next Friday, for Papa to bring the next issue, to catch up with the continuation of stories. In between, those animation shows fuelled our hunger for stories.

SO, together- a combo of cartoon movies and picture books - helped me to nurture my love for good stories and shaped me into a reader that I am today.

In this post, I have compiled a list of five animation movies I love to watch over and over again, hoping that those movies might be able to push someone else to read books. If you already are a passionate reader and haven't seen any of these films, I suggest you to watch them and let me know your opinions. Watching these movies can a good alternative to reading, and might save you from a reading slump as well, I gather.

P. S.  Trish's HOW TO CREATE A BOOKWORM helped me to come up with this post. Do visit her blog and be a part of her initiative. 

Wednesday, 17 August 2016

Waiting on Wednesday with Christmas Under a Cranberry Sky

Heya fellow bookworms! 
How you doing?
 I've been falling ill this whole month, exhausted now and have done less reading than I actually intended to. Anyhow, I'm extremely happy with all the books I read as each book was much better than the previous ones. Still have plenty more days left in August (almost half), so hopefully I can catch up with TBR; not sure, though, with all the exams coming up in September.

As you all know, Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme hosted by Jill of Breaking the Spine. It spotlights the upcoming releases we are excited for. 

Saturday, 13 August 2016

FIVE Settings I like to read in Summer books

I own many summer themed books, haven't read most of them yet, though. Yesterday, I was making a To-Read-Books list for this month and glancing through the blurb of each book, to decide which one to read next. It sparked an idea for the next blog post- the background settings of summer novels. So, here is a list of five settings I like the most.

Beach
Duh! Of course, the beach is my first preference. Most of the summer books I read this year are set in seaside villages or islands surrounded by the sea. I never get tired of those stories, instead, hopelessly fall in love with each place. Each time I finish reading a story, I feel the urge to pack my bag and go on a long vacation to that place.

Friday, 12 August 2016

Blog Tour & Review: The Sunflower Cottage Breakfast Club


Hiya, Bookworms!
Excited to be a part of the blog tour for THE SUNFLOWER COTTAGE BREAKFAST CLUB by Lynsey James. It is the second book in #Luna Bay series, a cute and sweet love story. 

Luna Bay #2
THE SUNFLOWER COTTAGE BREAKFAST CLUB
Author: Linsey James
Genre: Women's Fiction
Publication Date: August 1st, 2016
Publishers: Carina UK
Rating:
Goodreads | Amazon
The perfect summer romance for a sunny afternoon and a picnic in the park
Emily Reed is having a bad day. Devastated at losing her hard-earned promotion to the ditz who’s sleeping with the boss, her mother drops a devastating bombshell—the dad she’s known and loved for twenty-five years isn’t her biological father.
Now Emily needs answers and a month in Luna Bay should give her the time she needs to find her father, and land the difficult client at the Sunflower Cottage B&B which should put her back in the running for her coveted promotion.
Setting up the Sunflower Cottage breakfast club should be a great way to meet the locals and maybe even find out who her father is! The only problem is that brooding and insanely gorgeous, Noah, is determined to make Emily’s stay perfectly uncomfortable.
Finding out the truth was never going to be simple, but she never thought her heart would get in the way…

Tuesday, 2 August 2016

Top Ten Set of Books I'm willing to splurge on

 photo 21235-NT7X5J_zpsojbivzx8.png

1. PUFFIN IN BLOOM COLLECTION
Oh, just look at them. Gorgeous, aren't they? I've been eyeing them for a while now, they are quite expensive, but I hope to buy them someday. Glossy pages filled with vibrant illustrations!!! A must-have collection for each bibliophile's personal library.

Monday, 1 August 2016

JULY- THE MONTH I READ ONLY FOUR BOOKS

During the early week of July, I had taken a decision to read more backlist books and quite happy to say, I did actually stick with it. There are many books on my shelf, which are bought in a frenzy and gathering dust from lying neglected for a while. Anyhow, this month I made an effort to stay away from all those hyped/anticipated releases and indulge in perusing books I already own. The result was excellent, as I could read whenever my heart desired to and the absence of an overwhelming urgency to review, made it even more enjoyable. 

I also apologise to publishers/authors for not reviewing their titles as promised, for I was desperately in need of a break due to all the busy-ness and priorities in life. (one of the prime reason behind this BIG decision). Halfway through the month, the Monsoon came with a bagful of assorted diseases and my husband and I were unfortunate enough to catch a very bad fever. It took nearly two weeks to get better, and still not completely recovered, though. Thus, I was not able to read books as I had intended and had to narrow down the list to a few.